Interesting week of training

This week has been an interesting one. Last Saturday I ran 11.8 miles on the trails at redtop. My time was slow, 2:30:00 but I had a lot of fun with John and Scott. They are really cool people and I cannot wait to run with them again. There were some parts that were really technical and I had to walk through and they were also some pretty tough climbs but I felt really accomplished after finishing this run. I would definitely run this course and these trails again. Another great thing about this run is I only completely fail once which is impressive in my book. I took Sunday and Monday off then ran Tuesday. I ran 5 miles back out in beautiful Taylorsville Georgia. I really do miss running out there. It’s like I can run anywhere I want to go pretty much without worrying about running into major car traffic. The route I took on Monday was a decently easy 5 mile loop. The back half has most of the elevation gain. Why I like this course, because the harder hills are at the back half when you were already tired. I ran pretty good on this course though I averaged about 10:14 per mile. I took Wednesday off from running but I did do some leg exercises. I did four sets of each of these, 25 lunges each leg, 50 calf raises each leg, 35 seconds wall sits. My legs felt pretty strong after that workout. Thursday I did 5.5 miles on a loop to course around my wife’s parents home. Each lap is 2.75 miles long so of course I did two loops. This is a beautiful course with rolling hills in the end there’s not much elevation gain but you do get some hills. Again it is out in beautiful Taylorsville Georgia which I love running in. I took Friday off in preparation for what was supposed to be my long run on Saturday morning. I had planned on going for a lawn easy 12 mile run at 11 minute mile pace. Well apparently that was not in the cards for me. I felt pretty good until around mile five, that is when my stomach decided it did not like me. I had to quickly find the nearest bathroom and fix my issues. Unfortunately that was a mile later at 6.4 miles. So after fixing those said issues, I still felt pretty good leg wise. So I decided to head to the track. No guys I have not done speed work in a very long time on the track, and contrary to most people’s belief I really miss it. So I decided to do a decently easy work out. I did four sets of this, for hundred meters fast, 400 m walk. This equaled 2 miles. My fast 400 splits were 2:09, 1:55, 1:48, 1:38. I’m really proud of these because they were after a 6 mile run for one thing, and for another like I said earlier I have not done speed work in a very long time so I feel like I still have some amount of speed in my legs I just need to keep working on it. It made me feel good to do well on these 400s. So guys although I did not hit my mileage goal for this week I still feel accomplished running why is this week. I hope to get 25 miles next week with a long run of 12 or 13 miles.So what are your goals that you were working toward right now. I’m just trying to get stronger and improve my endurance. I’m also trying to experience more trail running. So guys whatever your goals are make sure that you’re getting outside you’re having fun you’re exploring but most of all you’re being safe.

Leave a comment